Magnet Nurse of the Year 2013

The National Magnet Nurse of the Year® Award

ANCC's National Magnet Nurse of the Year® awards recognize the outstanding contributions of clinical nurses for innovation,
consultation, leadership, and professional risk taking. Awards are presented in each of the five Magnet® Model components:

  1. Transformational Leadership
  2. Structural Empowerment
  3. Exemplary Professional Practice
  4. New Knowledge, Innovations & Improvements
  5. Empirical Outcomes

2013 National Magnet Nurse of the Year Award Winners

The 2013 award winners were recognized at the ANCC National Magnet Conference in Orlando, FL. From left to right: Linda C. Lewis,
Chief ANCC Officer/Executive Vice President, Elizabeth Bradshaw-Mikula, Samantha L. Weimer, Dr. Margaret L. McClure, New York
University Medical Center,
 Lisa Hartkopf Smith, Christopher Tod Brindle, and Debra S. Holbrook

Transformational Leadership Winner

Lisa Hartkopf Smith, MS, RN, CNS, AOCN
Riverside Methodist Hospital, Columbus, OH

In her 30 years as a hematology/oncology clinical nurse specialist, Lisa has driven the development of evidence-based practice, clinical guidelines, patient education, and online oncology courses at Riverside. A devoted patient advocate, she developed a unique, interactive chemotherapy kit that educates patients by showing them – rather than telling them – what to do. Her efforts to strengthen nursing certification in oncology resulted in a 27% increase in certification in just two years. She and her nurses helped shape Riverside's new cancer center to create a truly patient- and family-centered experience. Lisa is a mentor to hundreds of nurses and ignites their passion for improving oncology care.

Structural Empowerment Winner


Debra S. Holbrook, BSN, RN, SANE-A, FNE-A/P 
Mercy Medical Center, Baltimore, MD

Debbie's perseverance and passion on behalf of forensic nursing has changed the way victims of sexual violence are cared for in the United States and around the world. Her advocacy led the federal government to mandate forensic nursing programs across the country and her care delivery model now defines national policy. In addition, her efforts have changed evidence collection methods and screening tools for patients globally. Debbie led research showing that forensic nurses who use an alternative light source can identify signs of strangulation that might otherwise be missed. She is committed to developing forensic nurses, and offers community courses to prepare RNs in this area.

Exemplary Professional Practice Winner


Christopher Tod Brindle, MSN, RN, CWOCN
Virginia Commonwealth University Health System, Richmond, VA 

A nurse clinician on the Wound Care Team, Tod contributed in transformative ways to improve patient care quality. These contributions include a hospital-wide practice change to prevent pressure ulcers in the ICU, resulting in a reduction of Healthcare Acquired Pressure Ulcer (HAPU) rates from 8% to 2.4%; an evidence-based intervention for patients with hemodynamic instability; and groundbreaking techniques to enhance care of patients with fistula. His professional influence is felt locally, regionally, nationally, and internationally. He has presented his work across the country in venues ranging from national conferences to major academic medical centers, and he was recently appointed to an international panel of experts to create guidelines for the use of dressings in pressure ulcer prevention.

New Knowledge, Innovations & Improvements Winner


Samantha L. Weimer, BSN, RN, CCRN
University of Colorado Hospital (UCH), Aurora, CO 

Samantha's translation of new knowledge into nursing practice has improved care and outcomes for frostbite and burn patients throughout her community. In the hospital, she led an inter-professional quality improvement team to develop a standardized protocol to treat patients with severe frostbite, which has saved 41 fingers and toes so far. In addition, she organized an initiative that reduced catheter-associated blood stream infections to zero, and created an innovative process to increase the skill set of nurses caring for burn patients. Outside the hospital, she has educated local EMS, fire departments, rural communities, and mountain resorts about beginning frostbite treatment hours before patients reach the hospital.

Empirical Outcomes Winner


Elizabeth Bradshaw-Mikula, MSN,RN,CPN
Children's National Medical Center, Heart Institute, Washington, DC

Elizabeth's innovative nursing practice has improved outcomes for newborns with critical congenital heart disease (CCHD) across the globe. She conceived and led groundbreaking research demonstrating the feasibility of newborn screening for CCHD in the community hospital setting. She went on to develop a screening toolkit, which has been distributed to 1,140 healthcare organizations worldwide, and an educational website, which has received more than 5,000 visits. These materials led Health and Human Services Secretary Kathleen Sebelius to recommend universal CCHD screening and so far, 32 states have passed legislation. Four countries are conducting CCHD screenings, and many more are considering implementation.


2016  |  2015  |  2014  |  2013